Knowledge as a Commodity?

4 thoughts on “Knowledge as a Commodity?”

  1. Wow,
    You may consider yourself an “amateur” blogger and writer, but you are asking some really deep questions here.

    In regards to seeking knowledge, I agree that it is a responsibility of Muslims to seek knowledge (sacred and secular) and to educate others. I feel that seeking knowledge in the secular inevitably leads us to the sacred. Let’s take science, for instance. I have Muslim friends who are doctors and medical school and their faith in Allah grows as their knowledge in the world beyond our reach (micro-life, space, etc) expands.

    If I were to respond to all your points, one by one, I’d write an essay. But to be brief, I also agree that leaders need to begin examining the problems under a different light in order to begin making changes to the current paradigm, as you put it.

  2. The kudos is much appreciated sis. It means a lot since we engineers generally are not known for our eloquence–far from it in fact. Feedback gives me the incentive to write more, and, insha’Allah, I intend to do so.

    One thing I should mention is that I think the concept of Tawhid not only applies to theological premises but also to epistemological ones as well: I don’t even like the designations of “sacred” and “secular.” I can’t imagine the early Muslims making such a distinction but I could be wrong. I sometimes feel we as human beings create divisions when they don’t really exist, if you feel what I’m saying.

  3. An extremely irrelevant comment, but I was curious as to whether you succeeded in becoming a nuclear engineer and as to whether, if you actually became one, you got a job as one?

    I was just wondering because becoming a nuclear engineer is a strong goal of mine, but obviously I don;t think many companies would be hiring nuclear engineers at a time like this.

    1. No problem.

      I did get my degree in Nuclear Engineering two years ago, al-hamdu’ilah. I worked for a company based out of Germany for a while as an electrical engineering designing hardware systems for nuclear plants, but I’ve since quit because of lack of fulfillment, because I wasn’t doing actual nuclear engineering, and just because I found it boring. Things are a little shaky in the industry because of what happened in Japan, but honestly, for long term, sustainable, clean, self-sufficient energy, nuclear is going to be the way to go for quite some time. I’ve decided I’m going to leave the industry and pursue other things, but I do wish you luck with your endeavors. Nuclear engineering is awesome and noble field of study, but also it’s one that is totally misunderstood.

Leave a Reply

