Cosmic Apartheid and Theodicy: A Question of Relevance

2 thoughts on “Cosmic Apartheid and Theodicy: A Question of Relevance”

  1. Anthony,
    You are addressing a very important issue here by asking Muslim to answer for the injustices in the world. Or at least, the injustices that they can control. I think that the problem with many people is that they passively say that everything is “God’s will”. As much as we believe that the larger plan is in God’s will, the injustices are also our test. Dante once said (actually he didn’t, but the quote is mistakenly attributed to him anyway) “The hottest place in hell are reserved for those who in times of great moral crisis maintain their neutrality.”
    I think it’s a huge mistake for Muslims to think that they have hands, feet, minds, and mouth for decorative purposes. Our hands and feet are to work, our minds are to meditate and think, our mouths are for speaking up…You get my point?

    You mention: “This blog entry is sourced at this particular battle, one of many I had with apostasy. Far too often are we, the youth in this country, feed with, what I call, ‘pie-in-the-sky Islam,’ interpretations of Islam far removed from the reality of our situations.” You hit the nail in the head here. Far too often, we are trying to live up to an ideal, ignoring the battles on the ground. I actually took part in a performance (The Hijabi Monologues) where Muslim American women share stories of their realities (not related to hijabs, per say…just everyday life ordeals). The focus is on the American Muslim experience, which is ultimately different from other Muslims’ experiences from around the world…And yes, class, race, background, personal situations all make a huge difference in our individual experiences.

    Regarding apostasy, I think all Muslims experience this desire at one point or another. But sometimes we also mistaken our desire to question things as desire for apostasy. I think that has been my case for the most part. When I question things, I am sometimes made to feel that I am questioning Islam or Allah. In reality, I am just trying to understand it more deeply and with the intention of wanting to make it “matter” in my life (active versus passivity). When I first became Muslim, I was real confused and thought that questioning was a bad thing. In reality, questioning lead me to Islam. If I have a “bad” day, this doesn’t mean I left Islam, it just means I’m having a bad day. For me, once you are a believing Muslim you will always be a Muslim, it’s just a matter of how we handle our tests…

    This may be of interest to you: http://books.google.com/books?id=owZCMZpYamMC&pg=PA233&lpg=PA233&dq=%22may+alhassen%22&source=bl&ots=_CPWRudzrg&sig=OH-29CnrBKH0IrFJ0ABZYyTMqlQ&hl=en&ei=7Pr9TKOyBpK2sAPxpOWvCw&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=10&ved=0CFYQ6AEwCThQ#v=onepage&q=%22may%20alhassen%22&f=false

    It’s the encyclopedia of Muslim American history. Just published in 2010 and available free through google books 🙂

  2. Sista Maha,
    I get ya, though, it’s hard knowing the size of the monsters, the rough beasts looming toward Bethlehem, we must combat dwarf us so. Complacency and lack of imagination on the part of us Muslims don’t help too much either. I’spose all we can do is our share with what little we have. “Think globally and act locally,” as Tariq Ramadan said.

    Interesting concept, Hijabi monologues. Sounds cool. Muslim women, I think, need their voices heard more anyway. Islam entrenched in too much testosterone and hyper-masculinity as it is. I guess Kufi Monologues were out of the question?

    I’m not so sure I agree with your point on impugning. In the Qur’an [2:30], even the angels impugn Allah for creating human beings. And there’s the hadith of the Prophet where he says, loosely translated, “There is no shyness (reservation) in matters of religion.” I took these as open invitations to question. I mean, if the angels can question, why can’t we? So I guess confusing our desire to know and apostasy never really crossed my mind. For me, I didn’t have a desire to leave Islam at that time, but I felt I should given my situation. I reckon (please forgive my Southern dialect) just because you do something, it doesn’t mean you have a desire to do it; and likewise, just because you don’t do something, it doesn’t mean you have a desire to not do it…if that makes any sense. Of course, people do have desires of apostasy, but I think at that point, they might already have done so, since, “All actions are but intentions.” Allahu’alim

    Thanks for the tip sis. Good lookin’ out for a brotha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

